Book Review: Adversary by Kate Kaynak

Adversary by Kate KaynakTitle: Adversary
Series: Ganzfield, #2
Author: Kate Kaynak
Genre: Paranormal Romance, YA
Source: review copy from author
Published: August 2010 by Spencer Hill Press

The other minders, sparks, and charms aren’t the only threats facing the people of Ganzfield. Things are more dangerous than they seem for G-positives, and not everyone will survive.

Does Maddie have what it takes?



Why I Read this Book
: Minder (my review) was a great story. At the end of the eBook, there was a sneak peak of Adversary. And let me tell you, that little sneak peak – WHOA! Major cliffhanger. And while Minder didn’t have any cliffhangers of its own, there was room to grow. Another reason I was anxiously awaiting to read Adversary - did you read the blurb? See that part where is says and not everyone will survive. WHOA!

What I Liked: There is quite a lot of detail and world building going on in this series. There’s Ganzfield itself. Then you have G-Positives and Dodecamine. And then there’s Minders, Telekinetics, Sparks, Charms, RVs, and Healers. Seems like a lot to remember, especially when you read a few other books in between this series. So I greatly appreciate that the author did a Previously, at Ganzfield” as an introduction in Adversary. The author supplied me with the information I needed to know and remember in order to make sense of Adversary. Brilliant! Absolutely brilliant!

I love the addition of Zack! He’s the new guy at Ganzfield and he’s brought a load of tension for Maddie and Trevor. Zack is a very interesting Minder. Dr. Williamson doesn’t know his full potential; actually no one does, not even Zack himself. His abilities are unique and quite troublesome too.

The author incorporates such intricate details in these powers each of the students at Ganzfield possess. The connection between Maddie and Trevor is unique and mystifying. Even they don’t know exactly what the extent of their connection is and it’s fun finding out with them.

And just when you think everyone is out of danger’s path – WHAM! – the author throws in a curveball.

What I Didn’t Like: It took me too long to read Adversary. This book was going right along at full speed and unfortunately life’s little moments got in the way. This is the type of book you will want to clear your day to read.

Overall Impression: The world of Ganzfield is surreal; I felt like I was there, right in Maddie’s world. The author’s knack for storytelling is beyond fascinating. Fans of Harry Potter and Fantastic Four will enjoy this series.

I cannot wait for Legacy to come out! It’s not due out until January 2011, which seems so far away. Especially when there was a jaw-dropping sneak peak of Legacy at the end of Adversary that left me saying OMG!! And did you see the cover for Legacy? The suspense is killing me. Just when you think you know all there is to know about Maddie, the author adds in something new to the mix.



Brianna’s Rating:
4 Frogs



Buy on Amazon     Add to Goodreads

About Brianna: Supermom by day, naughty reader by night. Addicted to chocolate, Twitter, her iPad, her Kindle, and 99¢ Kindle deals. You can follow Brianna on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and Instagram.

4 comments:

  1. Oo you're killing me! I really enjoyed Minder and I'm so excited to hear that Zack mixes things up! Maddie and Trevor's relationship was too pat for me...I like some tension =) Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just finished this one. It freaking rocked. Can't wait for Legacy!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like an interesting series... I haven't read any of them yet, but I'm looking forward to getting started.

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't read these yet but plan to. Now that you said they're like Harry Potter, I'm there!!

    ReplyDelete